image

Crystalline

Years ago, in another life, another world,
My heart was crystalline.
Clear, strong, and protected, it was my fortress.
But there was a fissure, a weakness in all of my defenses.
The soft heart in hiding was broken into a million pieces,
Rent wide open by seemingly impenetrable darkness.
I cowered in fear, wondering if I would ever see the light again,
Feel the kiss of the sun on my cheek,
Feel joy, laughter…feel.
And then you came, breaking down the rest of my walls,
And the light poured in with stunning beauty.
My heart sang an ancient melody that was always there,
Locked deep inside,
Just waiting for you to turn the key.


Leave a Reply

