Reflections on Frozen Pipes, Birthdays, and Twin Flames

Reflections on Frozen Pipes, Birthdays, and Twin Flames

Reflections on Frozen Pipes, Birthdays, and Twin Flames

Yesterday was my fifty-first birthday. Since I was a little girl, I have been told that my birthday should be a perfect day. Mom was never allowed to lift a finger on her birthday- it was truly a day of celebration and pampering. With my day falling so soon on the heels of Christmas, it’s always been tough to generate that special feeling, since everyone is celebrated out by the end of the first week in January. Well, even though the day brought many challenges, it was still a memorable birthday.

I awoke early this morning to find a sweet and funny card from Dan next to the bed. This is my husband’s thing- he always finds the perfect card that will either make me laugh or make me cry- in a good way- for every special holiday, and it is always placed where I’ll see it when I first wake up. Today it was an interactive card that made me laugh, one that sang to me and even let me blow out birthday candles, followed by cheering. I also got two of my other favorite gifts- voicemails from Mom and my sister, singing Happy Birthday to me, a family tradition. Mom sings to everyone on their birthday, and I love hearing her sweet voice.

Unfortunately, my birthday also heralded record-breaking cold temperatures for Birmingham, which gifted us with frozen pipes yesterday morning. That meant a birthday breakfast at Micky D’s and a lovely hot shower at our YMCA before work. I’m so thankful that we have a place we can easily go for a hot shower, as many people don’t. We’re still going Girl Scout style at home, with bottles of water by each sink so that we can take care of basic needs. The pups are getting spring water to drink, and the outdoor cat is living it up in the guesthouse with great views of the city until this cold snap relinquishes its grip on Birmingham…it can’t happen soon enough.

After a busy day at work, I headed over to The Home for Wayward Seniors to take Heavy D her laundry. She normally likes to take care of her own clothes (or at least she enjoys the social aspect on visiting the Princeton Towers laundry room), but I have been very worried about her already suspect stability since her two falls, so I’m erring on the safe side by helping out. I was also very happy to receive a live rendition of Happy Birthday from her, which I captured on video. On the way home, I stopped by the hospital to visit with a dear friend who is facing a difficult surgery, reminding me yet again to be thankful for my many blessings.

My gift to myself was Dan’s ninety minute yoga class and some time on the rower. I thought about just a year before, when I was fifty pounds overweight and could only wish to be able to exercise like this. The class was wonderful; calming and centering after the challenges of the day. At the end of class, Dan surprised me by bringing me a candle-lit tray as everyone sang Happy Birthday to me. Dan had had a very stressful day, but he still managed to make me feel special from the beginning of the day until the end. How did I ever deserve finding this man?

My husband’s final gift of the evening was taking me to our favorite Birmingham restaurant, Ocean, where we enjoyed a lovely dinner and some nice wine. He told me I was his “Twin Flame”, and he is right. Our connection runs deep, one of great respect , deep love, and common beliefs and goals…with a lot of humor peppered into the mix. My life is so different with him, something I will never take for granted. He makes an ordinary day special, and a special day breathtaking.

As I snuggled under the warm covers of our bed with the pups at our feet, I reflected on the many gifts of the day. I am thankful for all of the love and joy in my life. I’m thankful that my mom shared her absolute love of birthdays with me- no matter which number birthday it is, life is to be celebrated. I’m thankful for my health, my home, my family and friends, my animals, a career that I love…and most of all, I am thankful for my Twin Flame.

Namaste


Leave a Reply

