An Attitude of Gratitude

An Attitude of Gratitude

Gratitude has become my religion over the past several years, and what a difference it has made in my life. I do my best to express gratitude not only in the good things that come my way, but also in the not-so-good. Everything that happens is put in our paths for a reason, to teach us, stretch us, and help us grow. Time after time, I find that if I will only trust in the act of gratitude, life becomes so much more rich.

Here is a list of some of the things for which I am particularly grateful…my Gratitude List for 2014:

IMG_4090-0

-I am grateful for Dan and the gift of love. Dan has weaved his sweet goofy magic of love, friendship, kindness, and compassion on me for over eleven years now. He makes me a better human being.

20140731-220657-79617439.jpg

-I am grateful for friendship. I have been blessed with a group of lifelong friends who make life special. We are there for each other no matter what- always have been, always will be. There is great comfort in that knowledge. Diane, Carol, Darla, Beverly, Gerre, John, and Wayne…thank you. You are the family I choose.

image

-I am grateful for a career teaching and performing that challenges me, inspires me, and allows me to give back in some way what was given to me by my wonderful teachers and mentors throughout my life. Included in this is gratitude for the many, many students I have taught over the years…I learn more from teaching them than they will ever know.

image

-I am grateful for Chez Gainey, “the home that love built” as we call it. This place is imbued with the spirit of love and encouragement, and the views never fail to inspire me and bring me peace.

Me and my brother, Andy.
Me and my brother, Andy.
My sister Leanne.
My sister Leanne.

-I am grateful to have reconnected with my long-lost brother and sister, Andy and Leanne, thanks to Facebook  Such a sweet gift that will continue to blossom over the years

image

image

-I am thankful for my animals, Kasey, Sophie, and Cooper- and all those that came before them…each coming to us in special and interesting ways, each making our lives more beautiful because of their presence. They make us laugh a lot, too, and that is always a good thing.

IMG_4172

-I am thankful for the Creative Group at Bedlam Farm and the gift of writing. Writing helped me to learn who my mother was as a woman and not just as my mother, and helps me every day to learn who I am and who I want to be. I’ve made some incredible friends along the way through the Creative Group, too.

20140809-165801-61081612.jpg

And finally…
-I am grateful for my mother’s love and encouragement, grateful that I was able to be with her at the end of her life, and for the lessons I learned sharing that most intimate of experiences.

Life is full of so much beauty, so much to be grateful for. I open my heart to the world, to life, with an attitude of gratitude.

image


4 thoughts on “An Attitude of Gratitude

Leave a Reply

