Where the Light Enters You

Where the Light Enters You

I have loved the poetry of Rumi for many years – in fact, so much so that Dan and I read his poetry to each other at our wedding on the waterfall. Today as I was looking for my daily inspirational quote, I came across a Rumi quote that I don’t remember seeing before, and it touched me deeply:

“The wound is the place where the light enters you.”

I resonate with the idea that the light, the good, enters into us from the wounds of hurt and loss. The idea of taking something sad and difficult and turning it into a strength or a gift is beautiful, and as I look back on my life, I see time and time again where this has happened. Growing up in a broken home, I avoided the brunt of emotional abuse from my father. In the dissolution of a long marriage and leaving a job I loved, I came to find great love and a position that fills me with purpose. With the loss of people I have loved, my capacity to love grew, and my appreciation for life and compassion for others deepened. From those experiences I came to a place of greater understanding of where I am, who I am, and what my purpose is.

My lesson in all of this is to truly find joy in the journey, as the journey is life itself. The twists, the turns, all there as part of a patchwork of experiences to guide us toward enlightenment. I wouldn’t want to live a perfect life, as that would mean a life devoid of growth and change.  It’s easy to be positive and happy when everything is going our way. The true test always comes when we are faced with challenge. I welcome these tests, as after each one, I find myself standing a little taller, feeling like I am made of tougher stuff.

I am far from perfect, and I know that as challenges come my way, I may jump to the ‘woe is me’ line at first. But I also know that I will soon recognize the reality of the situation, the possibilities that await on the other side of the darkness. I will choose the rocky path, the one that opens me up with gifts of hidden beauty at every turn. I can choose to see the craggy ravine, or I can see the glorious horizon ahead. I know which one I will choose.

image


Leave a Reply

