In the Hustle and Bustle


In the hustle and bustle of the holiday,

It’s so easy to forget to breathe,

To take time to appreciate the beauty around us,

The special magic. 

I run from one thing to another,

Stress beating its voodoo pulse in my veins,

With no real idea of where or why. 

But then…

Through the haze of the chaos I begin to see-

Brightly colored lights, festive and glowing,

The gentle smile of an old woman as she looks at me with knowing eyes,

A small child whose face shines with wonder at the magic of the season,

People reaching out to help one another. 

So much beauty and joy everywhere. 

When did I let my own wonder be blinded by worry and stress?

I remember the Christmases of my childhood,

When money was spare but love abundant, 

I awoke to magic, the living room crackling with it. 

We pounded out Christmas carols on the horribly out of tune piano, our laughter mixing with song. 

I believed. 

I still do. 

This is the season to remember. To become a child again, if only for a while. 

What a gift that is. 


Leave a Reply

